Liverpool architects

We have just been watching (recorded) “Susan Calman’s Great British Cities” episode 1 from Liverpool. It included the Williamson Tunnels of Joseph Williamson. I remembered those from Doctor Who’s Flux series of episodes. And it also reminded me of my two Liverpool architect ggggg-uncles: Arthur Hill Holme (1814-1857) and John Cunningham (1799-1873). Arthur was from Liverpool, and John from Berwickshire. Both married Usher sisters from Melrose, my g…aunts. I should put some more time into researching their lives more. Not least the buildings they designed – John’s included Greenlaw Town Hall in Berwickshire. A research project for another time!

About vivdunstan

Academic historian, genealogist, former computer scientist, and Doctor Who fan.
This entry was posted in genealogies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment