Three old postcards of Cupar, Fife

I lived in Cupar from 1995 to 2001. It was the first proper home I had with my husband. We lived in a flat in Cupar Mills, which is a converted old mill building on the Millgate, with massive thick stone walls. I looked into some of the past inhabitants of the building, in 19th century census returns, and valuation rolls, and got quite interested in the local history.

So I have a soft spot for Cupar, and keep an eye out for interesting postcards. And I’ve just bought three, all looking as though they date from the early 1900s.

The first, postmarked 1919, shows the River Eden, near the old Gaol, which later became a pub where we often ate high teas.

Postcard of Edenside, Cupar, Fife

Postcard of Edenside, Cupar, Fife

Next up is a view along the Bonnygate. This reminds me of the many times my husband and I would get ice cream on Sundays from Luvians along there.

Postcard of Bonnygate, Cupar, Fife

Postcard of Bonnygate, Cupar, Fife

And the third postcard, also undated, shows a group of boys gathered around the Mercat Cross at the top of the Crossgate.

Postcard of Mercat Cross, Cupar, Fife

Postcard of Mercat Cross, Cupar, Fife

About vivdunstan

Academic historian, genealogist, former computer scientist, and Doctor Who fan.
This entry was posted in Photographs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three old postcards of Cupar, Fife

  1. vivdunstan says:

    Reblogged this on Viv's Academic Blog and commented:

    I originally posted this on my general genealogy/ancestry stories blog, but I think it, and any more future personal postcard posts, would be better suited on my academic historian’s blog. So reblogging there.

Leave a Reply

