Might have broken through brick wall with Irish ancestor

My great-granny Annie Tate (circa 1879-1913) was born in Ireland according to the 1901 Yorkshire census, and Dublin according to the 1911 census. I’ve never been able to trace a marriage for her, which probably took place in Yorkshire or nearby. I can’t even find one in the Irish records. And I’ve never been able to find a promising enough looking birth. Checking the Irish civil registration indexes there are some possible births, but not in the right area. And I’ve not found enough about the “unnamed” Taite girl registered in Dublin North in 1879 to buy the certificate yet, or have any way to be confident it might be mine.

However I’ve just – I think – broken through the brick wall. I signed up for Rootsireland.ie which includes the civil registration indexes but also other records, including lots of digitised parish registers for the Dublin area. I just ran a search for Annie Tate births in the right period, and found what I suspect is my one in the transcribed parish registers: Anne Taite, born 4 Jan 1879, baptised in the Roman Catholic church 15 Jan 1879, St Paul’s Church, Arran Quay, Dublin. She was born at Blackhorse Lane, and her parents were John Taite and Mary Fagan. The first sponsor was Catherine Kiernan.

I quickly looked in the Rootsireland.ie records for any sign of other children of the couple, or a marriage, but haven’t been able to find these so far. But at least this is a possible lead. I’m quite hopeful this could be my great-granny. She named her eldest daughter Mary Adelaide Moore, and Adelaide was the name of her Yorkshire sister-in-law, making the other name, Mary, come from her own mother very feasible.

If only I’d found this before going to Dublin for a week in late June / early July – ha!

EDIT: Update to say I’ve since found a lot of younger children through the Irish Genealogy website which indexes parish registers too. And I’ve found a marriage for the parents in 1877 Dublin North. Have printed out a form to order that marriage certificate by post since it’s too early to order through the online method. And I’ve also ordered the 1879 unnamed female child birth certificate because a transcript/indexing project at familysearch.org indicates it’s my one, with the correct parents.

About vivdunstan

Academic historian, genealogist, former computer scientist, and Doctor Who fan.
This entry was posted in parish records and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Might have broken through brick wall with Irish ancestor

  1. Dianne says:

    This gives me hope that I may find my Irish ancesters one day. I have been trying to find my great great grandfather in Cork c 1820 for about five years. I am currently going back on all the people in that line to double-verify that I haven’t made any mistakes then I think it might be a trip to Ireland

Leave a Reply

