Got almost all my archival storage supplies

My husband fetched the goodies for me today from the university archives. I’m just missing the tissue paper, but hopefully he will get that in the next few days.

I’ve got three big cardboard storage boxes: one for each of family photographs, family documents, and family artefacts.

For the photographs I have a large number of paper envelopes to put each one in to protect it, before putting the envelopes into the dedicated storage box.

For the documents, such as the receipts from the time of John Dodds and Margaret Hall getting married, I have a number of expanding gussetted cardboard folders, each to hold multiple documents.

And for the artefacts, such as the bible gifted to Catherine Mary Helen Dodds as thanks for acting as beadle while her brother John was away during World War One, I will wrap each one carefully in tissue paper, before putting it into one of the storage boxes.

All of the storage items are archival quality, so acid free, so will protect the family items really well.

I will be scanning everything gradually, as I put it into proper storage, and will share the results here.

About vivdunstan

Academic historian, genealogist, former computer scientist, and Doctor Who fan.
This entry was posted in record keeping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

